Adventures of One Girl Gardener

I’ll Forgive Them When They’re Gone

Weeds.  Ugh.

I think they’re one of those things that came around when sin entered the world.  There were snakes without legs, then disease, then labor pains, then weeds.  I’m just sure of it!  Yesterday my husband got out and mowed our lawn, and yes – he really is wearing nice clothes and flip-flops.  That’s the way we do it.

And mowing really does make a yard look WAY better for all of you who resist it.  My mom would agree with me there.  If you really don’t want to edge and take care of your beds or trim your trees, at least mow!  Goodness.  But after this lovely morning of mowing, I walked around the lawn to discover these huge, and I mean HUGE weeds that look like giant stars squashed into the grass, no doubt smothering everything around them.  They are all over the place.  Hundreds of them.  So now the task begins to pull or kill them, and either way you look at it, it’s tough work.  So I’m irked at weeds today.  It will be a process.  But what in life isn’t a process, right?  I’ll pull the weeds from my yard one-by-one just like I try to always be pulling the weeds from my heart.  There’s no way to stop them, it’s only natural, but I can do my best to fight and one day have a yard (and heart) that is glorious and green!

And speaking of glorious.  On this same day that weeds irk me, I also noticed the more beautiful side to spring.  Buds.  Everything is beginning to grow, to open up.  The bradford pear tree in our front yard, which by the way smells horribly but looks nice.  The little bushes that line the front bed.

And then there is something that is magically appearing out of the ground…but it looks like it will be pretty when it’s full-grown.

And some of this.  I know my mom knows what it is, but I’m not quite sure.  It loves us though, growing rather quickly!

And all of these things make me forgive the weeds momentarily.

This entry was published on March 27, 2010 at 12:49 PM and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “I’ll Forgive Them When They’re Gone

  1. The stuff coming up from the ground looks like Hosta and that other stuff looks kind of like Rosemary. Give it a few weeks and you’ll know for sure!!

  2. On second thought, the stuff coming from the ground could also be a peony. It’s hard to tell from the pic.

Leave a Reply

