Adventures of One Girl Gardener

Enjoying Green, Hands Off

It’s like a really great surprise that you don’t like at all… After finishing my shower this morning, I pulled the hair mouse out to fix my curls only to realize that there was barely any left in the bottom of the almost-empty can.  And those of you who know me, know that it takes a good time for my hair to dry on its own and when it does dry, it tends to be quite…fluffy?  So I’m sitting in the living room waiting for my hair to dry and the chill to come off from the breeze I let into the house before the day decided the fate of my wet hair.  I’m cold.  I’m also tired, and somewhat unmotivated.  So on a day like this, what do I do to make a troubled Sara happy again?  I go out and work in the garden, or at the least in the yard.

But alas, it has been raining.  And although the sun is beginning to peek out from behind the clouds, the yard is soaked and the garden trenches are flooded with water.  The rows beckon to be weeded, but no weeding will occur today.  The replacement garlic begs to be planted, but no planting today.  The potatoes are sneaking from their new covering, but no new covering today.  Realizing this, I decided some time was needed outside regardless – so I’m going to barrage you with a smattering of pictures I took while it was still overcast and lightly raining.

The cool thing is, everything but tomatoes have been planted.  You can finally see green popping up around the garden.  AND, just had my first sighting of lettuce.  I know, you say “lettuce should be up and coming done by now” but I say in return “it was planted in a poor part of the yard and doesn’t want to grow there,” so now something like six weeks later it is finally springing up.  A little at a time, but I’m sure that if I keep watering it, more will come.

And yes, that last one is my poor tomato plant.  There are about 9 of them that look this way.  Remember, baby tomato plants can be sunburned, so take very special care.  It’s okay though, because these little babies are surviving and are actually growing very quickly!  The leaf is green in real-life too, but for some reason my camera kept yellowing it out!

And for some other special news – I planted a variety of different sunflowers as well.  They’re coming up after only a week and growing like little weeds – but trust me, they aren’t.  The evidence is in the leaf!

And last but not least, this little guy came to visit while I was taking pictures.  Hiding from the rain, I was able to shoot him up-close.  Never been happy to see spiders before the garden, but working daily amongst them makes you realize they aren’t ALL bad!

Looking back over all of these pictures of the wonderful things I have in the yard that are soon to produce yummy goodness for mine and Nick’s tummies, my mood tips on its own.

Thank you Lord for allowing me to enjoy Your wonderful creation and giving me the ability and the excitement to love every minute that I spend outside in my garden, even when I can’t touch it.

This entry was published on April 21, 2010 at 12:35 PM and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Enjoying Green, Hands Off

  1. elena mccoy on said:

    Yay for you!!! Im so excited that you still got to plant a garden! Jason, Luca and I moved the same week you did I believe (about an hour north of wilmington) and so now we have a yard as well…and we too planted a veggie garden….and flower garden too!!! I love it and I love that I know someone else doing it along side me 🙂 miss you!

  2. Your pictures are great! Do I have a talented daughter or what?! My garden is slow as well, but alas, have no fear, it will get better. Kind of like children: They have there non growing time and then, then have their growing times!! And what a time that is!!! (Not only physically but also spiritually and emotionally.) Love ya!

Leave a Reply

